Guest post by Evelyn Lafont: Don’t Judge a Book by its Genre

Please meet my first guest poster, Evelyn Lafont.  Evelyn is the author of The Vampire Relationship Guide, Volume One: Meeting and Mating.

Don’t Judge a Book by its Genre
Let’s just get this out of the way. I’ve been reading Stephanie’s blog recently, and one thing has struck me about it—Stephanie is smart. She’s smart in a bookish way that normally intimidates me and makes sweat beads start to dapple my forehead because I know that I can’t keep up with that kinda learnin’.
But this isn’t an issue of IQ size, it’s an issue of what outlet each individual’s intelligence chooses to manifest itself in. See, I consider myself more of an empathetic, instinctual learner than a bookish one. I feel things, truths, personalities, traits, etc. I’m not really intellectually curious; instead I’m more imaginative and emotionally intrigued.
Chick lit is the perfect outlet for my kind of fun, light emotional exploration. But over the last few years, chick lit seems to have become something to make fun of and call anti-feminist, and I just can’t understand why. 
Don’t get me wrong, I know that chick lit isn’t for everyone. But then, neither is historical fiction, steam punk, horror, young adult, etc, etc, etc. And yet, almost nothing has a worse rap than chick lit.
Almost nothing…because right behind chick lit on everyone’s disrespect radar is romance. Because goodness knows that hot sex is pffft, look, I can’t even pretend to say it’s bad for the sake of this post. Know why? 
‘Cause it rocks. Hot sex rocks on paper, on TV, in movies and, most of all, in person. Can I get a hell yeah?
Fiction has a job to do. It’s here to take you away on a journey to somewhere new, or somewhere old and comfortable. It’s meant to entertain, show you how life is for people who are like you and those who aren’t. Fiction isn’t necessarily meant to give moral instruction, be an example of a life well-lived, redefine a moral code, or inspire you. Sometimes, fiction is just meant to be fun.

                                              
 
Evelyn Lafont is an author and freelance writer. Her debut novella, The Vampire Relationship Guide, Volume 1: Meeting and Mating is available on Amazon , Barnes and Noble and Smashwords .

6 thoughts on “Guest post by Evelyn Lafont: Don’t Judge a Book by its Genre

  1. I like Evelyn's sense of humor. And I know your style of writing is more intellectual yet the emotions show through. So I am assuming Evelyn's style is more emotional but the intellect behind it shows through, cause she sounds like a smart cookie!! I may have to purchase her book too.

  2. @mewofford: Do! Her book is hysterical. I had to restrain myself from quoting the funniest bits. Josie's level of sexual liberation is also refreshing compared to, say, Sookie Stackhouse, who famously "burned with shame" (or something) when she caught herself fantasizing about having Eric and Bill at the same time.

  3. I can totally relate to this. I am relatively "book-smart" I guess, but I chose literature for totally emotional reasons. The same reasons I can't abide romantic comedies when I go to the movies. If you are going to have a "romantic" element in book and have me read it, somebody had better be undead, or murdered or something! I think we as readers are drawn to certain genres precisely because they are more likely to fill that emotional need for which we are looking. The point is well taken. I shun romance, but I'll read it if you dress it up in horror clothes. Interesting, kinda makes me want to re-think some things!

  4. @Jenx Byron and mewofford: Hope you guys watched the book trailer, it's really good. (That's how I met Evelyn on FB, commenting on her clever book trailer.) Makes me wonder what I can do for the Past Lives Trilogy…

  5. Well said Katja!Thank you Stephanie 🙂 And yeah, no–no burning with shame LMAO!Mewofford: Thank you! That compliment has gone straight to my head…I mean, my CRANIUM. Ooooh!Jenx: I hate rom coms too HATE. But I love reading romance. I think it may be an issue of needing time to develop enough emotional connection with the characters to believe the romance. Also, have you tried paranormal romance? It might have that mystery/romance blend that could work for you.

Leave a Reply

